TaDa…

…meet my wonderful colorful scarf!

Here it is in all of its 501 stitches of leftover yarn glory.

This is such a fun project to knit and pretty darn easy too.  All of that lovely fringe – it’s just tails of yarn left at the beginning and end of each row of knitting, knotted together with the ends of the adjacent 2 rows.

My scarf measures 72″ PLUS the fringe (3-1/2″ long after being tied & trimmed).   The number of stitches you CO determines how long it will be.

As promised,

Instructions for knitting your own Linen Stitch Scarf…

1.  Gather up a bunch of leftover sock yarn (or yarns of somewhat similar weight) – I used 17 different yarns, of varying weights (sock, lace weight, sport, and even light worsted).  I had a lot of some yarns and a just a bit of others, which was okay because I knit 2 rows with each yarn and then changed yarns.  This way I was able to use up lots of little bits of extra yarn!  MOST of my yarns were variegated or painted which resulted in lots of fun color changes along the length of the scarf.

2.  Get yourself a LONG circular needle (you will be knitting the scarf side-to-side) – I used a 32″ length size 5.

3.  Cast-on a TON of stitches with the yarn of your choosing – I cast on 501 stitches (I thought it was 500, but I miscounted, which is totally OK with this pattern!)   Using the same size needles and yarn weights, if you cast on ~400 stitches, you would get a scarf about 57″ in length; whereas 425 stitches would give you a scarf about 60″ long.

4.  The yarn you cast on with will be one of the edges of the scarf and therefore it will stand out a bit –  so you may want to choose your favorite color.

Before you start knitting PLEASE NOTE: 

  • You will be always knitting on the right/front side of the scarf!
  • When you get to the end of a row, cut the working yarn (leaving about 5″ for fringe) then slide your stitches to the other end of the needle and start knitting from the other end with a new length of yarn.
  • When you start each new row, always leave about 5″ of yarn (to be used for fringe).
  • Tie the yarn ends from every 2-4 rows together depending on how thick you want your fringe to be.  I tied every 3 rows together.
  • It’s a good idea to tie your fringe ends together as you work to keep the ends of your scarf from getting too loose.
  • I changed colors every 3rd row, but you can do whatever looks good to you!
  • As you are knitting, it may look like your scarf is not going to be that long, but that’s because the stitches are all bunched up.  I was amazed at how long my scarf was once I bound off!

5. Start Knitting as follows…

Row 1 – (Knit 1, bring the yarn to the front and Slip 1 purl-wise, bring your yarn to the back) Repeat until you get to the end of the row, making sure you end with a knit stitch.  If you had cast on an odd number of stitches this will mean you will end your first row with Knit 2.

Row 2 – Knit 2, then SLIP the knit stitches purl-wise (with the yarn in front) and KNIT the slipped stitches (they will look like they have a “dash” in front of them).  REMEMBER TO ALWAYS END YOUR ROWS WITH A KNIT STITCH!

6. Repeat rows 1 and 2 until your scarf is as wide as you like (I made mine 6″ wide which was 72 rows).

7.  Bind off IN PATTERN!

Now Go Get Started on your own Linen Stitch Scarf!

I can’t wait to cast on for another one…  Maybe one in shades of orange, or pink, or blue, or green, or maybe one of each!!!

9 responses

  1. Oh, my gosh, Cheryl! What a fun, fun project. It’s giving me courage to rip the bazoobies out of my mess upstairs in the hope of resurrecting it in a beautiful scarf. THANK YOU and happy wearing. It is gorgeous!

    1. Thanks! Now about your mess upstairs – I suggest you take a picture of the ripping out process – I think it will help give you the courage :) I plan to rip out a cardigan that is totally finished but I just don’t like it. I LOVE the yarn and so I plan to give it new life as a cropped jacket! Only time will tell if I am making the right decision :)

  2. Awesome! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Nice. I had read about this as well from another blogger. I don’t knit so fast, but will be trying this out, although the thought of knitting with sock and lace weight yarn sounds like I’ll be knitting forever on one row!

    1. I thought it would be a very time-consuming project as well; however since I used several different weights of yarns things moved along pretty quickly! One thing I did try to be sure of was that I alternated between thicker and thinner yarns pretty regularly so that my scarf remained uniform. Once I got going, it was hard to put down, so it really didn’t take that long. For my next scarf I think I will cast-on only 400 stitches as I was very surprised with how long mine turned out with the 500 stitches. GOOD LUCK if you give it a try and thanks for stopping by!

      1. Thanks. Yes, I do that too … cast on stitches, think it’s not long enough, and cast on another 20-30. When I’m done with the scarf, it’s 6-7 feet long!!

      2. :) Ah the things we learn by trial and error!!!

  4. It’s gorgeous! I love the play of color…

    1. Thanks! I am already planning several more for Christmas gifts! It’s such an easy project to card around and a great way to use up some extra sock yarn!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

