Have I Been Gone That Long???

Wow – it’s been almost 3 weeks since my last post.  Have I just been sitting around eating bonbons?  NO SIR, I have been sitting around eating, but it hasn’t been bonbons!!!  I don’t know about you, but for some reason I seem to eat more in the summer.  Which is a bummer, since I can’t wear big, comfy wool sweaters around in the summer.

But I digress.   This is a knitting blog, so I should probably bring you up to speed on my knitting.

On May 1st, I challenged myself to complete 25 knitting projects, create 10 original designs and complete the Master Knitter Program all within one year.

I have just reached the end of 12 weeks.  With 40 weeks left to go, here is what I have accomplished:

  • 25 Projects:  I have completed 4 and have 8 in-progress.
  • 10 Designs:  I have several designs in the planning stages (code words for not yet started).
  • Master Knitter Program:  I have 1 of 16 swatches in-progress.  (I had a hard time writing this, as it is in this category that I feel the most guilt over my lack of progress.)

You may look at my progress and say,

“Wow, so little done, SO MUCH TO DO, and…  you’d be right!

However, I want to point out that it is summer and a lot of people don’t knit at all in the summer.   My internal “eternal optimist” mechanism is alive and well and I still believe that I will accomplish ALL my goals within a year, despite the fact that I am already almost 1/4 of the way through the year.

Here’s a peek at what I’ve been doing the past 3 weeks (in addition to eating):

Finished the Leafy Glen Shell (and it fits – which is a bonus!)

This one fits - yeah!

Finished the Rhinebeck Hat
(I’m still trying to find someone whose head it will fit)

Practiced my fair-isle knitting with this project

Made HUGE progress on the Polka Dot Purse – I am working on this as a KAL (knit-a-long) with my TKF (thursday knitting friend)

Can't wait to get to the felting process!

I have also finished the first of my “delicate lace socks” – I LOVE this sock.  I’ll share pictures soon!

The second one is coming along a bit slower.  I hope to finish it by the time I feel like wearing socks again – November maybe???

In summary…  It’s been averaging in the 100’s here in Raleigh, so I’m feeling PRETTY DARN good about the fact that I am actually finishing some of my knitting projects.  I’d like to take a poll of southerners who put their knitting away in the summer – I’m thinking 99%???  The rest of us are just crazy!

Well gotta go… Gotta Knit…

It’s 10pm and the temperature has dropped into the 90’s 🙂

2 responses

  1. Hey, Cheryl,

    Congratulations on your beautiful projects, your persistence, and your ability to ignore sweltering weather in favor of yarn! My (virtual knitted) hat’s off to you! You are inspiring me to get back to the needles and to complete some projects languishing in my baskets.

    Keep up the good work, and let me know if you need some knitting company soon.

    P.S. I am about to laugh out loud at your comments about eating more in the summer—-do you disappear in the winter?

    1. You can never have enough knitting friends 🙂
      I look forward to seeing some of your work-in-progress!

Leave a Reply

