First Day of School = 12 Rows

Up before dawn to make sure our son gets off to school on-time and with a hot breakfast* leaves me with a bit of free time before my day starts.

And as we have canceled our daily newspaper (for fiscal reasons), I have nothing better to do than knit a few rows – 12 to be exact.

After satisfying my urge to make progress on my Trellis Scarf, I decided to try to photograph it following some tips I found in a ravelry on “photographing your knits”:

Buy a sheet of quality poster paper, looking for smoothness in color and texture, and check to make sure it isn’t thin or splotchy (hold it up to the light; the less light that comes through, the better) or too shiny.  Buy one black and one white, for different moods, or use different colors to jazz things up.   Place the top half of the poster paper up against a wall or a box (you can tape the top up), and let the bottom half curve smoothly onto a flat surface without creasing the paper. Place your object on the paper, aim your light source at it or put it by the window (or both), and take your photo. Note: Beware of shadows! Try to aim both your light and your camera in complementary ways in order to minimize them.

Here’s my attempt at improving my photography:

I think that the photos are definitely better than previous attempts, but I still have lots of room for improvement!  I’ll keep experimenting until I get it right!

*Disclaimer on the hot breakfast mentioned above…  This usually lasts approximately one week after which time our son figures out the latest possible time he can get out of bed to shower, grab a bagel and be out the door.

Have a GREAT Day!

2 responses

  1. Thanks for posting the photography tips. I was wondering how to make my pictures look better.

    1. If you are a Ravelry member, check out all the tips in a post by ShoelessWonder. Here is the link that will take you to that post after you’ve logged in:
      http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/itty-bitty-knits/43805/1-25

      And thanks for taking a look at my blog!

Leave a Reply

