Help I’m Casting On and I Can’t Stop!

I already have 5 WiPs lined up for this Thursday’s Knitting Marathon and here I am casting on another project – What’s a Knitter to DO???

Enjoy the diversity – that’s what I say! After all, since the time that elapses between Casting On and Casting Off is usually (at least for me) A LONG TIME, doesn’t everyone get bored with the same project?

BUT…

I was brainstorming as to how I could balance my LOVE of starting new projects with the need to finish some of the 9 already in-progress.  That’s how I came up with this idea of taking a day off during the week to schedule a KNITTING DAY.  Why not?  We take off for doctor  and dental appointments don’t we?  I submit that knitting is essential to my health and well-being as well.

Make time for your health & well-being and join me on one of my KNITTING DAYS!

Here are the steps I follow:

  • Secure the day off work
  • Let everyone in the household know what you are doing (in advance)
  • Tell them you don’t care if they think you’re crazy
  • Assemble SEVERAL WiPs (I gathered 5) for the day, so you are ready to go
  • Locate a comfy spot(s) in the house where you can sit without too many distractions
  • Put together a GREAT playlist (no soothing music – you don’t want end up sleeping – and it’s fun to get up and dance every so often to keep you alert and give your fingers a break!)
  • Have snacks and drinks available for energy boosts
  • Make dinner in-advance so no one else gets cranky and tries to interfere with your KNITTING FOR WELL-BEING time.  Make it an awesome dinner and they will start scheduling these days for you  🙂
  • Get a good night’s sleep the night before you start
  • ENJOY THE DAY
  • Revel in the progress you made!

Join me this Thursday, January 20th at 8am EST – if you can’t knit the entire day, block out SOME time and let me know what you get accomplished!

Oh, if you’re curious as to what I cast on today…

Here it is – That 1×1-rib scarf using Noro’s Silk Garden you see a lot on Ravelry.  I used size 6 needles and only CO 31 stitches as I wanted a skinnier scarf.



I hope to hear that you’ll be joining me on Thursday!


3 responses

  1. Hi, Cheryl,

    You are such an inspiration! While I can’t devote all of Thursday to knitting, my goal is to actually finish the sweater you saw and helped me with, including the COOL button I bought years ago for it. If I really get going, I may let you know about another of the PIW (Projects-in-Waiting), but for now, that’s my goal.

    Knitting time: 3:00-5:30 p.m…and hopefully this will inspire future planned knit-ins.

    ENJOY YOUR DAY!!!

    1. Thanks Laurie – and good luck getting that sweater finished. I can’t wait to see it done, it’s going to be gorgeous!

  2. Ohh what a fun idea. Since my kids have been home with a snow day and vacation day that will be just what I need and a good excuse to JUST sit and knit most of the day..I have two sweaters and two different socks to keep me busy.

Leave a comment