It’s 7:16pm EST – My February Knitting Marathon…

…Has Officially Begun!

I will be posting my progress over the next two days – Stay Tuned!

Here is how the two days are going…

7:16pm – started with the Vines Cardigan and the company of a good friend 🙂

This is what it looked like to start…


8:39pm – first break (I went a little longer than an hour because… well I just started!  I snapped a picture, had a snack and took out my contacts)

The first sleeve is started.  I need to knit both sleeves to the point where I can attach them to the body of the cardigan.


8:49pm – Staying with the Vines Cardigan!  (I want to make some serious progress before I jump to another project.)

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

9:56pm – Break Time (Goodbye Janet – thanks for keeping me company!)

The provisional cast-on is off and hemmed and I am working my way up the arm.


νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

9:59pm – I am going to try to finish the first sleeve of my Vines Cardigan before I head to bed tonight!

Here I go…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

11:43pm – Break Time (time to post my pictures)

It’s going a little slower than anticipated because I’m tired!  I think the busy weekend is catching up with me!  (Still have 7″ to go)


νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

12:10am – Staying the course with the first sleeve for my Vines Cardigan.

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

12:33am – Falling Asleep at the Needles

I think that starting in the evening is a little more difficult that starting in the morning as I did in January!

  • Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

8:06am – Still knitting the first sleeve for my Vines Cardigan.

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

9:42am – First Break of the Morning

I made HUGE progress and I am almost done with the sleeve…


νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

9:53am – 2 inches to go on sleeve #1 (that’s only 12 rows)!

Back to the Needles…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

11:27am – Takin’ a Break to Celebrate!

First sleeve is on holders ready to be joined to body and second sleeve is cast on…


Second sleeve hem ready to be turned…


And, second sleeve hem turned!



12:33pm – Have to take care of a few household/family things, so this break will be a bit longer.

I am progressing on my second sleeve – should finish up this afternoon!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

1:34pm – Chores Taken Care of it’s time to get Back to Knitting…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

2:37pm – I’m giving myself 4 minutes to get to my neighbor’s house for a change of scenery and then I will be back to that 2nd sleeve!

Will post pictures on my next break.

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

2:47pm – Back to the Needles…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

5:05pm – Heading home to upload pictures of my progress.

The second sleeve is almost there!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

5:22pm – I’m close to finishing the 2nd sleeve!!!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

6:25pm – Time for a Quick Dinner Break!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

6:54pm – Right Back @ it!!!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

8:05pm – Success:  Both the sleeves are done!


νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

8:15pm – Back to the Needles for the last Hour and a Half!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

9:56pm – The Marathon is Over…

DO I HAVE TO STOP KNITTING???

…I WAS JUST GETTING INTO A RHYTHM!!!

Today was a pretty productive day.  I’m glad I decided to work on one project the entire time.  It’s not done, but I’m a lot farther than I was Yesterday!

Sleeves are attached and I am working up the yoke…


Good Night to All…

I’ll post a Lessons Learned wrap-up tomorrow.

10 responses

  1. YAY! Let’s go! I am starting off with Katies’ awesome purple slippers.

    1. Can’t wait to see them finished!

  2. Awesome! I am almost done with my first slipper, then will take pictures, a nice bath, and post up on marcaritaville. I just did my first EVER button holes!

    1. WOW – You are really cruising!

  3. Gooooooooooo, Cheryl! I hadn’t read your latest update when I saw you at Church, or I would have wished you Happy Knitting! The cardigan will be gorgeous—I can’t wait to see it. On YOU!

    Have a great, great day. 🙂

    1. Thanks Laurie – How is your gorgeous pink sweater coming along? I can’t wait to see that finished! Join me the rest of today – I still have about 8 hours to go 🙂

  4. The slippers are done – I have to admit, I stopped knitting for about an hour – it’s hard to resist a snuggle with my sick 12 year old – you never know when the chance will come again! I think I am going to continue the marathon to include a “finishing day” tomorrow – to sew in ends and buttons.

    1. I can’t wait to jump over to your site and see the finished slippers! Thanks for joining me today and good luck with your finishing day tomorrow. Hope your son is feeling better soon!!!

  5. Great job – you outlasted me! I gave up around 8ish. Can’t wait to see your sweater when it’s done!

    1. The secret is to take MANY breaks! I always say that I’m going to try to knit for 26.2 “mostly continuous” hours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

