Whatever happened to those Snail Mittens?

I’m glad you asked!

I did manage to finish one of them last week…


It looks a little lumpy – but I’m certain blocking will help even it out. I’m basing this on some advice from  Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s blog.  Her post on stranded knitting – is funny, informative and addresses this very issue.

The back of the mitten gave rise to some Observations on Stranded Knitting (which will be the subject of a future post)…


If you followed my February Knitting Marathon day, you know I was working on my Vines Cardigan (from Clara Parke’s Knitters Book of Wool – one I HIGHLY recommend).  I’ve made quite a bit of progress on that project as well.  Take a look…

Before I could work on it, I had to convince my cat Custer to give it up as a comfy place to sleep…

Now back to my Master Knitter swatches!

5 responses

  1. The Yarn Harlot is so right; I followed the advice on that same post for my Fiddlehead mittens and it was 100% true. Also, I love your snail mittens. They are in my queue, I just need the yarn. Damn it, now you have me shopping!

    1. I’m glad you like the snail mittens – they were a lot of fun to knit. Happy Shopping!

  2. Oh, my gosh! Cheryl, I just love, love, love the mittens. The colors are gorgeous and the pattern, especially with the cuff, is sooooo cool. I just love the purply accent. You have a great eye. It’s a shame to only use these for winter—can they double as driving gloves in the summer? I KNOW you need some.

    I am looking forward to seeing you in your cardigan…it will look great with your hair.

    Happy knitting!

  3. Your mittens are so pretty! I love the color combo.

    Your cat looked awfully comfortable on your cardigan. Can’t wait to see it when it’s done. 🙂

    1. Thanks – I hope to finish it during my knitting marathon next Thursday – Friday!

Leave a Reply

