Knitters to your Mark, Get Set, KNIT, KNIT, KNIT…

…your way through 26.2 hours!

It’s 8:00am EST and the The March Knitting Marathon has Officially Begun.

I will be posting my progress throughout the day, so check in often and join me when you can!

Hmm… So many projects from which to choose – I think I’ll start with the Vines Cardigan.

So, here’s how the day is going…

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

8:00am – started with the Vines Cardigan (I’m pretty close to finishing this one)

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

9:33am – First Break

The underarms are grafted, loose ends are woven in and I’ve started the applied I-Cord.  This may take awhile, but I’m going to stay with it for at least the next hour or two.



νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

9:47am – Let’s apply some more I-Cord!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

  • Dance to the MUSIC of Home by Chris Daughtry – I can never let this one go by without getting up!  And then there was Wonderful Day by OAR – another must move to the music song.  Well that really energized me!!!

11:47am – Break-time!

The I-Cording is moving along very nicely, I made it around the neck.  I’m on the Home Stretch now – I CAN SEE THE FINISH LINE.


OH, PLEASE PARDON MY RUDENESS – I FORGOT TO WISH EVERYONE A HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY THIS MORNING!!!  May the Luck of the Irish be with you all!

In honor of this day, I plan to work on my LOVELY Green Cable Vest after I’ve finished the I-Cording on my cardigan.

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

12:05pm – Back to the Needles…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

12:29pm – Will Break for Food!  ALWAYS!!!

I’m one of those people who doesn’t do well with being hungry.  My husband has stopped asking me if I’m hungry at those times and is good enough to just put food in front of me – You’re the Best Pete!

This time it is Janet to the rescue.  She has saved me the hassle of thinking about lunch and brought it over with her knitting.  Such friends are priceless – Thanks Janet.

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

1:12pm – Back to the Needles…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

2:20pm – It’s Done!  C’est Fini!  Yeah!

Here is my Vines Cardigan (from The Knitter’s Book of Wool) finished, except for sewing on a clasp at the front.  But the KNITTING is done, so I will add it to my list of finished projects.


νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

2:28pm – Now on to my St Patrick’s Day Project, the Green Cable Vest.

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

4:00pm – The Green Cable Vest is moving along…

I’m almost done with the front!


4:45pm – Have to take care of some domestic duties this break time, so it will be a bit before I get back to the vest.

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

5:12pm – Back to my St Patrick’s Day Green Cable Vest…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

6:40pm – Break for pictures

Have to go to a meeting during my dinner Break!   I will be eating dinner on the way to save time 🙂

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

9:12pm – Hope to finish the front of my St Patrick’s Day Green Cable Vest…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

10:47pm – Break to Celebrate

St. Patrick’s Day Green Cable Vest is seamed together at the shoulders.

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

11:02pm – Now time to add the ribbing…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

11:59pm – That’s it for tonight, folks.

Picking up stitches always takes me longer than I expect.  Here is my Green Cable Vest with the ribbing finished on one armhole.  Still have to knit the other armhole and then neckline ribbing.


νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

12:14am – Good Night to ALL!

  • Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

6:33am – More ribbing to knit…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

7:50am – Break-time

Both armholes are ribbed on my St. Patrick’s Day Green Cable Vest.



νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

8:02am – On to the Neck ribbing…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

9:17am – My March Knitting Marathon has OFFICIALLY ENDED.

And my St.Patrick’s Day Green Cable Vest is…


…ALMOST done!   The neck ribbing is still on the needles, but WORK IS CALLING and I have to stop short of finishing it.

Hey – there’s always tomorrow right?  Hopefully I will be able to put this one in the finished column by the end of the weekend.

Have a WONDERFUL Day – I’ll recap my March Marathon tomorrow.


11 responses

  1. I am just starting! That I-Cord looks like a super good time! lol.. Can’t wait to see how it comes out, I bet 2 hours will bring a good amount o fprogress on it.

  2. It’s 12:35 – Maddy’s slippers are DONE! andI am off to make myself some lunch. Your sweater looks amazing – you are making great progress on your i-cord.

    1. Hooray for finished projects! I just finished the cardigan – and I think it turned out really nice. I am looking forward to seeing Kevin’s sweater progress!

  3. How’s the progress? I rested, had some dinner, and then thought I may be up to doign the neck of Kev’s sweater. Got it done. But it’s too tight for his head! I have to take it out. I think this sweater hates me!

    Can’t wait to see how the green sweater is coming along…

    1. I was hoping to wear it to my meeting but alas it was not to be! I will finish it before I head to sleep tonight!

  4. I love the vest! I love the way the cable splits up the V. Off to bed now (really, this time). Can’t wait to see what you’ve gotten done by morning.

  5. How to you bind off your ribbing so it stays stretchy? That’s what went wrong with Kevin’s.

    1. I didn’t look at it closely, but did you bind it off loosely in the ribbing pattern? I have to watch that closely when I bind off – especially in ribbing. Good Luck with finishing it, and Thanks Again for joining in the Knitting Marathon. I’m already looking forward to April’s Marathon.

  6. I can’t wait to see you in the Vine Cardigan! And aren’t you glad you didn’t just chuck the green vest? It was PERFECT for St. Patrick’s week! And you, being SO Irish and all? (Are you?)

    Enjoy the progress—they are both beautiful.

    1. Thanks Laurie – Yes it did come in handy for St Paddy’s Day and Yes I am Irish! Thanks for your support – we need to get together to knit one day soon! How is the pink sweater coming along???

      1. I think I might actually finish it if we get together—-ha! It’s made a bit of progress, but I’ve had work lately and gardening and a virus, so it’s languishing next to a scarf that is actually GROWING! Have a great, beautiful Saturday and enjoy every stitch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

