Would you cut up your knitting…

…on purpose???

Well that’s exactly what I’m about to do!

My Sunflower Pillow front (a Kristen Nicholas pattern) is cast off and ready to be cut open…

Kristen Nicholas has a great post titled, It’s a Steek Tutorial which is great for understanding steeks* and getting over any reluctance you may have about taking the scissors to your knitting.

*Steeks are those extra stitches that you eventually cut open to form a seam.

Here’s me confidently(???) CUTTING THROUGH MY KNITTING…


And, Ta Da!  Here is the pillow front freed from its steeks…

Next, I will add the mitered edge border and then the surface embroidery.

Moving Forward and Making Progress!

5 responses

  1. Wow! You are one brave girl…

    1. It did take some courage to make that first clip 🙂 Thanks for stopping in! I hope your knitting projects are going GREAT!

  2. so pretty! I have completely lost my mojo. I am hunting high and low for it. When is you May knit a thon? That may be what I need to get myself back ontrack.

    1. It just may be Spring Fever! My Spring knitting happens either in the wee morning hours or late at night. Maybe knitting a few rows on your latest project with your morning coffee will be all you need for awhile.
      My May Marathon is tentatively scheduled for Thursday and Friday, the 26th and 27th. I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Cutting your beautiful knitting? I always thought that steeking was for the certifiably insane or those much braver than I am. I can’t WAIT to see the results—I already LOVE what you’ve done. 🙂

    P.S. Can you guys come for pizza next Sunday night? The 15th.

Leave a Reply

