If you are going to be stubborn, you’d better be willing to change….

Once upon a time, A LONG while ago, I started on a cardigan.

I had BIG plans for this cardigan.  It was going to be Bright and Colorful and Fun and Fitted and it would garner all sorts of compliments every time I wore it.

Excited, I cast on the required 342 stitches paying little heed to the voice that whispered, “shouldn’t you knit a gauge swatch”?   “Who has time for gauge swatches?”, I laughed and then I knit and knit and knit.

And then I measured.

Hmmm… there’s enough sweater here to fit around 2 of me.  No big deal, mistakes happen.  So I ripped out 2 hours worth of work and began again.  This time, I actually pulled out the pattern and looked at the suggested gauge on my yarn label to figure out where I went wrong.  A few math equations later and I was casting on again.  “Shouldn’t you knit a gauge swatch just to be sure?”, the voice whispered.  I brushed off the thought with a shrug and cast on anyway.  And then I knit and knit and knit.

And then I measured.

Another hour later as I was ripping out my knitting again, the voice whispered, “knit a gauge swatch, it will make things easier”.  Recognizing this as a challenge, I stubbornly ignored the voice.  After all, I now had 2 examples of how many stitches didn’t work.  Surely I had zeroed in on the right number to cast-on.  A quick glance at my notes and I cast-on again.  And then I knit and knit and knit.

And then I measured.

Still too big.

“I TOLD YOU SO”, cried the annoying voice.  “Shut UP”, I shouted back as I RIPPED OUT THE STITCHES for the third time.  “I just had a mental block, it was 242 stitches that I meant to cast-on.”  “Smart knitters knit gauge swatches”, the voice taunted.

Defiantly I cast on 242 stitches and then I knit and knit and knit.

And then I measured.

What, TOO SMALL???

I had overshot my goal and the cardigan was now too small.  I mean it didn’t even go halfway around!  How could I have messed up SO terribly?

Not willing to concede to the voice, I decided on a new direction.  I would make the knitting fit SOMETHING!   Let’s see… my neck is significantly smaller than my waist.  YES, that was it – a cowl!  It would be a perfect fit.  And, it would still be Bright and Colorful and Fun.

A most ingenious decision.  And, I didn’t have to give in to the voice, Ha Ha.

Here is what it looks like so far…

Only 10 more rows plus the band to go!

Moral of the story:  If you are going to be stubborn, you better be willing to change. 🙂

4 responses

  1. The cowl looks great! I love your moral of the story!

    1. Thanks! And, I might even attempt doing the cardigan again at some point because I love the pattern.

  2. Cheryl, you are my hero! That silly little voice—what does it know, anyway? Ha HA! I love the cowl, and people from far and wide will have to admire it, and then you can tell that little voice, “I told you so!” before the men in the white coats cart you off…talking to a voice probably isn’t a very good idea, but the cowl sure was!

    1. The white-coats are coming, the white-coats are coming 🙂 You’re right, I had better be careful, or I may get carted off soon. I am truly living on the edge as I just started another new project – I’m out of control, but loving it 🙂 There’s just something about shopping for yarn that is truly irresistible. Will you join us next Thursday???

Leave a Reply

