A Thursday Coat KAL

It all began last Thursday…

…at Downtown Knits in Apex, NC where a few knitters were working diligently on current projects.  When out of the blue, someone picked up a Sally Melville pattern book and said, “isn’t this Einstein Coat awesome?”   We all shook our heads in unison.    And that was that.

We all HAD to have that coat. 

And we all HAD to have that coat for fall. 

Which meant we all HAD to shop for yarn THAT INSTANT. 

And just like that, our Thursday Coat KAL (Knit-Along) was started.

It’s not my fault that I forgot I still have 8 current projects to finish up!  You weren’t there!  If you were, you’d be working on a Thursday Coat next Thursday too!

Actually, why not join us! 

We plan to work on our coats on Thursdays only, making it to Downtown Knits if we can.  This leaves 6 other days to work on other projects!

The Einstein Coat is all garter stitch making it easy and quick to knit.  The pattern is in Sally Melville’s book, The Knitting Experience Book 1 – The Knit Stitch.  Here is my Thursday Coat after 2 Thursday’s worth of work…

This is the bottom of the coat which is knit as a long rectangle of garter stitch – 191 garter stitch ridges to be exact.  The safety pin is at the 50 ridge mark.

Join us next week and start your Thursday Coat.

Shouldn’t every girl have a Thursday Coat? 

I think you know the answer to that question! 🙂

6 responses

  1. HEY! I was just starting an Einstein! toooooo funny! AND… I will be there in NC in somethiing like 3 or 4 weeks, so I COULD go and work on it with y’all (see? Practicing my southern already!)

    1. Wow – we knitters think alike! It would be so awesome to have you join our group at Downtown Knits. Will you be in town on a Thursday 🙂 Of course, we could make an exception for out-of-towners on work on our Thursday Coats whatever day you are in town!

      1. I will actually be in NC for close to 3 weeks, so I am sure I can make it for 1 of the Thursdays…

      2. I LOVE it! A local KAL with a special out-of-town guest – how awesome.

  2. This is so funny, Cheryl—when I was flying home from CA in June, I noticed another fellow knitter and a beautiful project she was working on. We started talking about knitting stuff and she mentioned the ‘Einstein Coat’. Hmmmm…I didn’t know Einstein knit! I got home and looked it up, and there it was! I think it’s sweeping the nation!

    I love your color—and how can you allow a moment of inspiration to be ignored? Einstein would never let that happen!!!

    1. Who would have thought Einstein would be impacting the knitting world 🙂 But math and knitting are a great combination! I bet Einstein would have been an awesome knitter. Anyway, why don’t you join us in our Thursday KAL??? It’s great to see everyone’s different yarn/color choices and how they knit up. Not to mention we’re going to be at it awhile, so the more the merrier!

Leave a Reply

