Where have all the blossoms gone…

…on my Little Blossom Cardigan???

I can answer that!

You see I tried but I just couldn’t do it.

I really did try to knit all the little blossoms into the cardigan like the neatly printed intarsia chart on the pattern instructed, but it led me to say things I cannot repeat.  I ripped back to row 3 (below) trying to figure out what I was doing wrong.   My stitches were being swallowed up at every color change and I couldn’t seem to get it right.

I asked myself, WHY?  The answer came swiftly and painfully… “Because you’re no expert when it comes to color-work that’s why!”

Then I cut myself some slack,  “Well,  one of the reasons I started the blog was to complete my journey to expert-ness :)”

So, I did a little research and lo and behold, to get good-looking intarsia (especially when knitting LOTS of little bits of colored areas), you should choose your yarn wisely.   Therein lies my problem – I went for color & feel over function when I choose the Rowan Handknit Cotton for this project.  The color changes that happen in intarsia require you to twist your yarns each time you change colors and this yarn was too thick and “cottony” causing each stitch neighbor to sit on top of each other rather than settling in to a cozy comfortable position right next to each other like a squishy wool or wool-blend might do.

However, I still had a Dilemna – I already had the yarn and didn’t have the budget to purchase more.

My Solution – Adapt the pattern to my yarn!  So, instead of intarsia knitting, where the colors are knit in, I will surface embroider the kazillion blossoms AFTER I’ve knitted and seamed the little cardigan.  How hard can that be?  I’ll let you know in a few weeks!

Time to knit my way closer to the embroidery stage!

2 responses

  1. Lovely work! Keep trying and you will get it right!

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! I do plan to try this one again with a different yarn and I hope to have better results. But for now I will try the surface embroidery which I think will be really neat as well. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

