The Blossoms are beginning to grow…

…on my Little Blossom Cardigan!

The finished back of the cardigan looked so lonely with only a couple of pocket linings to keep it company…

…I decided to start embroidering some flowers before finishing the front, sleeves and seaming it all together…

This may work out very well as it’s probably easier to embroider on the flat pieces of knitting.  After seaming, I can add the few blossoms that span the seams.

Also, in case you are wondering, I did count – there are 100 blossoms for me to embroider!  “100 blossoms to embroidery in all, 100 blossoms to embroider, take one down pass it around, 99 blossoms to embroider in all”  Oops, got a little carried away there. 🙂

[from prior post] … instead of intarsia knitting, where the colors are knit in, I will surface embroider the kazillion blossoms AFTER I’ve knitted and seamed the little cardigan.  How hard can that be?  I’ll let you know in a few weeks!

Back to the knitting part – I have 2 fronts and 2 sleeves to go!

7 responses

  1. I think this cardigan will be perfect for heralding in the spring! Will you embroider the flowers in various colors?

    1. My plan was to do all white with the purple centers but I had thought about doing all different colors too – maybe I’ll try a little bit of each and see which looks better! It would make for a great spring cardigan!

      1. Or all white flowers and just change tghe centers of each?

      2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that idea – thanks!

      3. I’m glad you liked it … have fun! Tonight I’m going to sketch out the schematics for the cabled Chelsea Silk vest and get to work on that.

  2. Hey, Cheryl,

    I feel like a blog-stalker for writing back so much, but I just LOVE your posts! Today’s song will probably be stuck in my head—THANKS A LOT! 🙂

    Happy day to you.

    1. It makes my day every time I see a comment from you! You are the sun that shines on my blog!!! Can’t wait to see what “designerly” things have been going on at Your House! You always inspire me.

Leave a Reply

