Knitting Marathon Date is Set…

…for April 25th – 26th!

Join me in knitting for 26.2 hrs!

Schedule some time off from your normal routine and get some of those Works-in-Progress moved into the finished column!  If you’re like me, you’ll probably have several projects from which to choose!

Here’s how I plan my 26.2 hours…

  • Knit for 60-90 minutes (or so – this will vary depending on the day!)
  • Take 10-15 minutes to: snap a picture, post my progress, exercise a bit, eat or take care of other necessary business.   🙂
  • Post throughout the day.  Please check-in and reply to one of the posts with how YOU are doing – I LOVE HEARING FROM EVERYONE!
  • I do plan for sleep (about 6 hours or so) – one month my alarm didn’t go off and I slept for over 7 hours (slacker!!!)

All in all it’s 26.2 hours of mostly continuous knitting! 

The next day I re-cap my progress…

Check out my January and February  and March Marathon Results from last year!

The countdown is on for April’s Marathon!

13 responses

  1. HURRAY! I’m in, Cheryl! Thank you for giving me a great excuse to get back to some old friends who are languishing in their undone existence. Yippeeeeee!

    1. Awesome! Gather together all those unfinished projects – especially those hiding behind bookshelves 🙂 and get the caffeine and snacks ready – it’s going to be a fun 26.2 hours

  2. Wow! I wish I could. I think Elly might object. Although she is becoming quite used to seeing her Mama knit. And I sure would love to finish … or at least make good progress … my hexagon blanket. I hate knitting with wool in the summer.

    1. If you like, join in for as much time as you want. When I started scheduling these days, I actually started with a 5K of knitting (5 hours) and progressed from there! I do agree though that knitting with wool in the summer is NOT as fun as when the chill of an autumn day hits!
      Thanks,
      Cheryl

  3. Buttons and Beeswax | Reply

    My gosh! I would love to do this! I’m not sure I could stay awake that long though, but it’s such a great idea! I was once invited to do an ‘all night knit’ for charity, but it coincided with a holiday. The girls looked like they all had a great time chatting and eating snacks etc though. Maybe I’ll propose this to my stitch and bitch group! 🙂

    1. You could always start with a 5K of knitting (5 hours) and work your way up 🙂 It’s actually how I started scheduling these knitting days as I wasn’t sure how long I could last! I progressed to a 10K then 1/2 marathon and now I stick to the marathon time (26.2 hours) and I break it up with plenty of breaks for exercise, photos, etc.

      It’s lots of fun – I hope you and your stitch and bitch group join in! If you do – be sure to check in and post YOUR progress so I can check your site and see what you’re working on!
      Thanks,
      Cheryl

  4. Buttons and Beeswax | Reply

    My gosh! I would so love to do this.. I’m not sure I could stay awake long enough though! I was once invited to an ‘all night knit’ for charity but it coincided with a holiday. The girls all looked like they had fun eating snacks and chatting all night though. Maybe I’ll propose this to my stitch and bitch group, we’d get so much done! 🙂

  5. I would LOVE to join this marathon (much better than the kind that involves running!). I used to go on knitting binges/sprees regularly when I was younger. However, NOWADAYS if I knit 26.2 hours in two days, I would probably not be able to knit for another month. 🙂

    1. I concur! And that is precisely the reason I came up with my schedule of breaks – even fitness breaks 🙂 I found that if I stopped and took the time to do something physical for 15-20 minutes, it allowed me to continue on for longer periods of time! Those breaks usually consisted of dancing in the kitchen to my knitting playlist 🙂 as long as nobody else was in sight – think Dancing with the Stars but with someone who has had NO training whatsoever 🙂

  6. I had so much fun when I joined you last year! I’ll have to see what I can do this year…

    1. It would be great if you could join me – even for some of the time! Keep me posted.
      Cheryl

  7. Cheryl – You know I’m in! My kids are on school vacation that week, so maybe I will make them a fabulous chore list to accomplish while I am knitting *insert evil laugh here*! I have SOOOO many works in progress right now. If you don’t mind, I will post an invite on my blog (www.marcymade.com) as well, see how many we can get knitting! I am so glad you are back! I have missed your knitting. By the way, did you get to finish your master knitter class?How did your swatches end up? So many unanswered questions…
    –Marcy

    1. Marcy – I am glad to be back and SO GLAD to hear from you. I will be updating my progress on my Master Knitter swatches soon – I have to re-knit some because the instructions changed! My fault for procrastinating 🙂 Anyway, I love the idea of the Chore List – the kids are going to be so excited 🙂 You can tell them it’s my fault! Grand idea to post a link and get as many knitters going on the 25th as possible! I am getting giddy over which projects to work on – 26.2 hours of knitting pleasure – I can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

