Something different is on my knitting needles…

…and it doesn’t include bobbles!

Yes, I finally reached the saturation point.  8 bobble bracelets and I’m ready to move on.

Sometimes for fun, I like to just cast on and start knitting to see where it takes me.  So, I cast on 22 stitches (with no pattern as a guide) but the thought that I could use a simple light summer scarf.

Here’s where it led me…

Easy Knitted Scarf

My simple 2-row repeat scarf:

Cast on 22 stitches
Row 1:  Slip 1 purlwise, (Knit 1, YarnOver, Purl 2 Tog) repeat 6 times, Knit 2
Row 2:  Slip 1 purlwise, Knit to the end
Repeat these 2 rows until your scarf is as long as you want.

HOW IS THAT FOR SIMPLE?

And not only is it simple, I’m pretty sure it will be a quick knit as I am using size 10 needles!

Go ahead, just cast-on and start knitting to see where it takes you.

12 responses

  1. The bracelet looks good in the previous post. The scarf looks very pretty. Wish I know knitting.

    1. There’s always time to start! 🙂 Do you have a friend or family member who could teach you???

  2. The satin finish of the yarn is great with the airiness of the pattern. Looking forward to seeing the full finished piece.

    1. Thanks! My real estate work has gotten a bit in the way of me making significant progress over the past few days, but I am certain I will be wearing it before the end of May!!!

  3. I’ve got a pile of linen that would work up great in that stitch!

    1. Well – I don’t know what I did but my scarf was biasing badly so I ripped it out and started with a new stitch 🙂 Maybe it’s just the yarn – it’s not the best yarn to work with. I should remember my promise to myself to spend my knitting time wisely with GREAT YARN!

      1. You’re welcome – I would have felt awful if you started and were having the same issue. It’s given me some good practice at seeing how a pattern develops – I just may want to produce a bias-fabric in the future, so I will remember this one!

  4. This is going to make a beautiful summer scarf, I’m almost tempted to make one myself!

    1. WHOA… I will be posting a follow up to that! As I progressed, my scarf was biasing badly, so I went back to my stitch library and I have started with a new stitch pattern. I will post pictures later today!

  5. Are we still marathoning in 6 days????? I am planning my knits as I type!

    1. Oh YES! I’ve been starting new projects like I have none already in progress 🙂 I always get giddy with excitement when my monthly marathon gets close. I’ll post some pictures later today of what I’ve started. Can’t wait to see what you will be working on.

Leave a Reply

