I just KNIT…

…my way through 26.2 hours!

May’s Mostly Continuous Knitting Marathon officially began at 8:02am EST.

See my periodic progress reports below!

Here’s how the days went…

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

Wednesday, May 23rd…

8:02 – 8:18am – Added my fellow marathoners to my Blog’s main-page (yes I should have done this yesterday :-))

8:19am – started with my newly cast-on cap-sleeve sweater (design by Twinkle)

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

  • RIP RIP RIP

9:24am – First Break

Some protein to fuel the next several hours!

How things started…

Cap-Sleeve Knitted Sweater by Twinkle

And how they ended…

Knitted Cap-Sleeve Sweater (Design by Twinkle)

YES, your observations are correct – I ended up back at the beginning!  Some days just start that way 🙂 

I was hoping to finish this little cap-sleeve sweater (by Twinkle – VK Spring/Summer 2012) before tomorrow evening. 

Well I better get back at it!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

9:44am – Back to my knitting (and hopefully no ripping)!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT KNIT

11:40am – LUNCH BREAK (it’s amazing how marathons work up an appetite :-))

I am happy to report that progress IS being made…

Knitted Cap-Sleeve Sweater Progress

Once I get to 7-1/2″ I get to add the waistband detailing!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

12:14pm – Back to the needles!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

  • KNIT KNIT (turn up music) KNIT KNIT KNIT

2:12pm – Break for pictures…

Knitted cap-sleeve sweater progress

This sweater design gave me the idea to experiment with color-blocking with some bright-colored cotton (Mandarin Petit) I had on hand.

HOWEVER…  once I started the waistband detail I quickly felt knitters remorse as the colors are too jarring together.  The third color is a bright orange which I thought would bridge the yellow and dark orange but I think I should follow my instincts and either stick to all yellow (as started) or move on to a different project for now!    I LOVE the green that it is shown in, but I can’t afford a yarn-splurge right now!

DECISIONS!  DECISIONS! 

I’ll let you know what I decided at my next break.  Right now, it’s…

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

2:45pm – Back to work Play!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

5:15pm – Break for updates…

This bright-colored necklace gave me the inspiration to forge ahead with my color-block experiment!   Why not?  Why not take a chance on potentially wasting an entire Knitting Marathon day on a bad color decision?  I like to learn by doing and re-doing 🙂  I like to KNIT and RIP so that I can commiserate with others when they have to do the same 🙂

Sure I could have been safe and knitted it in the same color as illustrated in VK but where is the excitement in that?  Well, I guess it would have been exciting to wear that gorgeous green color…

Well, time to get back to my experiment (pictures later – I think I need more color on the needles before I unveil (or RIP) it!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

5:25pm – Back at it!

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

6:45pm – Dinner Break – I NEED it, things are not looking good (and I mean LITERALLY)

Knitted Cap-Sleeve Sweater

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

7:45pm – Don’t know why but I am still pushing this color-blocking thing

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

8:08pm – It’s past time to start RIPPING…

Knitted Cap-Sleeve Sweater

  • RIP RIP RIP

8:09pm – And time to start KNITTING on a project that has a bright future 🙂

I am switching to my 3-Button Noro Jacket…

Puff Rib-Stitch Knit Jacket

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

8:10pm – There’s still time for me to MAKE PROGRESS…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

11:14pm – Now here’s some real PROGRESS…

Knitted Puff-Ribbing Jacket

This is the best pattern for making huge progress in a short amount of time.  The main stitch is called “puff ribbing” and it involves dropped stitches.  I should be able to finish this back by tomorrow!

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

11:20pm – The final push for the evening…

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

12:01am – I think I’ve hit the wall.  Time to get my Z’s

  • ZZZ… ZZZ… ZZZ…

νvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

Thursday, May 24th…

7:07am – Oops, slept a little longer than I meant to 🙂  Well I will make it up at the end!

I won’t stop until my Noro Jacket Back is done!!!  

  • KNIT KNIT KNIT

11:27am – Well, that was a productive bit of knitting…

3-Button Cardigan (From Noro Book)

Ta Da – The back of my Noro Jacket is done!!!

Another Knitting Marathon is in the Books!!!



5 responses

  1. sweet! nice progress, even with the ripping out – I did my fair share of that earlier today. Back to the needles…

    1. Awesome – I just took a quick break, so I’ll go check out your progress!

  2. The second project is looking really great! I applaud your fearless frogging, I do it a lot as well as I’m figuring things out. I’m sure you’ll find the balance on that project soon! 🙂

    1. Thanks for your comments – it’s always encouraging to hear that others go down the same road at times. For next month’s marathon though, I will stick to a project that is well under way so that I can work on finishing it! I like being able to wrap up a marathon session with a Finished Project!!!

  3. Great progress on the Noro Jacket! But… wait??? you’re done for the day? I am still knitting away.

Leave a Reply

