Making progress on My Thursday Coat…

…but only on Thursdays!

Einstein Coat by Sally Melville

About a year ago (July 14th, 2011 to be exact) I made this little agreement with myself to only knit this project on Thursdays, which allowed me to name it my Thursday Coat.  It’s really the popular Einstein Coat from Sally Melville’s book, The Knitting Experience – The Knit Stitch.

For almost a FULL YEAR, I have kept my promise to myself – even though I have been sorely tempted at times.   Now there are only 2 more Thursdays before I reach the 1 year mark.  So, if I want to keep things all neat and tidy and finish it up in ONE YEAR, I will either have to knit like a banshee the next 2 Thursdays or BREAK MY PROMISE.

Pause… (***thinking***)  OKAY, AFTER ALMOST A FULL YEAR, THERE NO WAY AM I GOING TO BREAK MY PROMISE!

So there’s my answer:  I will have to KNIT LIKE A CRAZY WOMAN on July 5th and 12th to wrap things up in 1 year. I know the world won’t come to an end if I don’t finish up in one year, but who doesn’t like a challenge???  And, with one sleeve almost done that leaves me with just one sleeve and the finishing work – quite possible don’t you think?

Stop back next Thursday to check on my progress!

3 responses

  1. I have the book – I have been looking at starting it for over a year. lol… I am greatful for the knit marathon delay. I have been ordered to not knit for 6 weeks! I am going absolutely crazy! But my wrist and hand are feeling better.

    I am certain you can finish the sweater in 2 thursdays! Each thursday has 24 hours!

    1. So sorry you still can’t knit!!! That must be really tough. But “stay the course” and don’t knit now so that you can knit lots more later!

      Remind me – were your wrist and hand hurting BECAUSE of knitting???

    2. So sorry you still can’t knit!!! That must be really tough. But “stay the course” and don’t knit now so that you can knit lots more later!

      Remind me – were your wrist and hand hurting BECAUSE of knitting???

      And thanks for the encouragement to finish my Thursday Coat – you’re right, with 48 hours of available knitting time, finishing should be a breeze 🙂

Leave a Reply

