January 2013 Marathon Recap…

Or just how much knitting got knit?

The results are in and here’s how my time was spent…

  • Knitting – 12 hours and 43 minutes
  • Sleeping ~ 2 hours more than I meant to 🙂 for a total of 7-1/2 hours (knitting CAN be exhausting!)
  • Eating ~ 2 hours
  • Taking pictures, posting updates ~ 2-1/2 hours
  • Other ~ 3-1/2 hours (including a 2 hour meeting commitment that I had forgotten about)

If that looks like more than 26.2 hours you are good at math!  I added 2 hours to the end of the second day because of the meeting I had to attend.

Lessons Learned…

  • Remember to check and clear ALL calendars (including the paper napkins in your purses scribbled with dates) the week prior.
  • Re-read all patterns prior to the start and actually LOOK at your knitted pieces to see which cardigan front you’ve already knit!
  • Be ready to RIP if necessary and don’t waste time wallowing in self-knitty-pity.

Revelations Revealed…

  • You WILL come across a knot in your yarn as soon as you are 3/4 of the way across a really complex cable and lace row.   Don’t waste time, just “tink” it and get over it.
  • The supplies you gather will be the ones you don’t need.  The only supply you WILL need will be at the bottom of your other knitting bag that is in the car that your husband drove to work that day.  Don’t waste time, just move to another project.
  • You WILL receive an email the day before your knitting day reminding you of a commitment that you had scribbled on a napkin that is in the purse that is in the car that your husband drove to work.  Don’t whine, just keep your commitment and tack on any time lost to the end of your knitting day.

JOIN ME for my next Marathon which will begin Sunday, February 10th at 5pm EST and run through 6:32pm on Monday, February 11th.

♥ A great way to finish up your Valentine’s Day projects ♥

I WILL…

be wearing my Valentine’s Day sweater by the end!!!

3 responses

  1. I have never done a Knit Marathon and found someone doing one January 21 & 22. I have promised myself to take this challenge. I will join you in February as well. A great way to get those unfinished projects done. I will link about your Knitting Marathon on my blog as well in hopes you will get more knitters to join you. Happy stitching!

    1. Thank you Margareta, and good luck to you as you attempt your first knitting marathon! But I must warn you, once you start you may not be able to stop 🙂
      I’ll check in on your blog to follow your progress,
      Cheryl

  2. Reblogged this on At Margareta's Haus and commented:
    Found another Knitting Marathon going on in February! I will join this one as well…..any one else in??????

Leave a Reply

