love, Love, LOVE…

this Valentine Sweater of Mine

I set aside Pete’s socks for the last couple days and picked up the Cables and Lace Filati sweater that I am knitting “pour Moi”.

The yarn is a hand-dyed, worsted weight, 100% merino called “Gather”.  It was created by Downtown Knits in Apex, NC.  I really like the way it knits up – it’s “soft and springy” and I think the cables and lace really show off the way that it is softly variegated.   Every time I go back to knitting this sweater I think, “I CAN’T WAIT TO WEAR IT!”

Hurry Hurry Hurry – Knit Knit Knit – PATIENCE PATIENCE PATIENCE (is NOT my strong suit)

The size 6 & 7 needles felt like timber posts compared to the zeroes I’ve been using for the socks.  It’s always nice to change things up a bit.

Here is my lovely red sweater back all bound off and waiting…

ValentineSweater_BackFolded

To be matched up with it’s lovely front that was cast on…

ValentineSweater_FrontCastOn

And ribbed while biking  (hey if you only have time to knit or exercise, I say why not do both!)

ValentineSweater_FrontRibbing2

Do you see the extra ends at the left?  Stationery bike accident.  I let my feed yarn hang a little too close to the pedals.  You can probably figure out what happened. 🙂

Ribbing finished, changed to the larger circs for the main pattern (Ah, that’s better – a little more room on the needles)

ValentineSweater_FrontOntoCircs

Then knit some more…

ValentineSweater_ProgressFront

Well now, that is a good bit of progress!

With Valentine’s Day just 22 days away, you better get your gift knitting in gear!  Especially if you’re knitting for your special someone AND yourself!!!

Does anyone remember what movie this line is from…  Love means never having to say you’re sorry ?

If you guessed it, we were probably born in the same decade 🙂

I am definitely NOT sorry I spent the last three days’ entire knitting allotment on my Valentines Sweater – back to Pete’s socks tomorrow I promise!

♥ Happy Valentine Knitting to ALL ♥

2 responses

  1. Cheryl, I love your sweater! I love the yard, the pattern, and the color. You will look so cute! I am sure that Pete’s feet will be cute, too, but not as adorable as you will. But I bet he won’t mind. 🙂

    1. 🙂 i am anxiously waiting to see some of your knitting projects! you still have me curious about the new cardigan you were starting – will you be wearing it for Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

