February 2013 Marathon Recap…

Or just how much knitting got knit?

The results are in and here’s how my time was spent…

  • Knitting – 13 hours and 12 minutes
  • Sleeping ~ 6-1/2 hours (somehow I can’t seem to get it under 6 – knitting CAN be exhausting!)
  • Eating ~ 2-1/2 hours
  • Taking pictures, posting updates ~ 2-1/2 hours
  • Other ~ 1-1/2 hours (you don’t want the details, trust me)

Check out fellow bloggers…  At Margareta’s Haus and Not Your Average Zoe – I noticed they were knitting up a storm as well!  I love the mini-chevron blanket that Zoe was working on and Margareta definitely had me beat with her production of 2 skirts and the beginnings of a baby sweater!

This month I knit more hours than the total of everything else:  13.2 hours knitting / 13 hours doing other.  In March I am going to really try to up the hours of ACTUAL knitting!!!  Ideas???

Lessons Learned…

  • Knitting something that is to be a surprise?  Schedule activities for that person so they won’t be hanging around impeding progress!
  • Decide from the beginning that you will be okay with slow-going if you work with teeny tiny needles!
  • Be ready to RIP if necessary and don’t waste time wallowing in self-knitty-pity.

Revelations Revealed and Resolutions made…

  • The break in my yarn won’t be noticed until I am 3/4 of the way across a really complex cable and lace row.   Resolution:  Don’t waste time, just “tink” it and get over it.
  • I WILL make a grand statement that I will be wearing a finished knitted item by the end of the Marathon JUST BEFORE I do the math and realize I couldn’t possibly finish even if I had 4 hands to knit with and twice as much time. 🙂  Resolution:  Don’t whine, just keep knitting until the end, I’ll be much farther along than when I started!
  • I WILL find all sorts of reasons to knit for myself rather than someone else.  Resolution:  Banish the quilt and knit on!

JOIN ME for my next Marathon which will begin Friday, March 8th at 7pm EST and run through 9:32pm on Saturday, March 9th.  This will be a ROAD-TRIP marathon for me, so I am excited to see how it will work out!

♥ How did your Valentine knitting projects end up? ♥

Leave a Reply

